Scottish Women's Premier League

#SBSSWPL 2: Aberdeen 4-2 Boroughmuir Thistle

July 5th 2021

Photo by Stephen Dobson.

Match report provided by Anyone’s Game. Click here to find out more.

Aberdeen captain Kelly Forrest was delighted with the “unbelievable achievement” of winning back-to-back league titles after they lifted the Scottish Building Society SWPL 2 trophy.

Her side concluded the season with a hard-fought 4-2 victory over Boroughmuir Thistle at the Balmoral Stadium.

Emma Hunter’s side twice had to fight back from behind with Francesca Ogilvie grabbing a brace and Eilidh Shore and Bayley Hutchison also scoring.

“I don’t think it’s really hit home but it’s a bit of a relief as well,” Forrest told Anyone’s Game. “It’s been an incredibly long year and back to back promotions, no one expected it from us so I’m delighted.

“With Covid, it has been an 18-month season in the SWPL 2 since we stopped for such a long period of time. So we had numerous pre-seasons, had to maintain things and be consistent and the girls have done that and it’s fantastic.”

Aberdeen manager Stephen Glass and former Scotland boss Craig Brown were among the crowd, while the Pittodrie club’s chairman Dave Cormack was watching on the club’s Youtube stream.

“It was unbelievable,” said Forrest. “I didn’t realise just how many people were here to support us and that’s what makes it even more special.

“Our friends and family have supported us throughout this season and a lot of the young girls’ parents have driven around the country for them, so it’s fantastic and great to share the moment with them.”

It was Thistle who took the lead on 26 minutes after a mistake from Gilmour, who passed straight to Mhairi Smith to fire home.

However, the Dons equalised with less than 10 minutes until half time with a lovely strike from Ogilvie who fired into the top corner.

They seemed to find their rhythm after the goal but just five minutes later Boroughmuir led again through Fiona Gibson after the Dons failed to clear their lines.

But goals from Ogilvie and Shore had the Dons ahead before Hutchison made it four.

Aberdeen:  Gilmour, Campbell, Forrest, Broadrick, Doig, Bruce, Shore, Gover, Ogilvie, Hutchison, Thomson; Fraser, Pratt, Srath, Innes, Sopel, Gordon, Collins.

Boroughmuir Thistle: Moddie, Gibson, Clark, Wilkinson, B Anderson, Templeton, MacLeod, Smith, Novoa Terrente, McCabe, Duncan; Goodchild, Davie, Duff, Anderson, Murray.

More News