Scottish Women's Premier League

#SBSSWPL 1: Glasgow City 2-0 Rangers

June 7th 2021

Photo by Colin Poultney.

Glasgow City sealed their 14th Scottish Building Society SWPL 1 title in a row with a 2-0 win over Glasgow City. First-half goals from Hayler Lauder and Niamh Farrelly were enough to make sure their side lifted the trophy and go into the UEFA Women’s Champions League next season as Champions. Celtic will join them in Europe next season after a comprehensive 8-0 win over Motherwell.

The leader of the Glasgow City line, Hayley Lauder got the breakthrough at Broadwood. Priscilla Chinchilla slipped a clever ball through the Rangers defence to meet Lauder, and she made no mistake in slipping it past Megan Cunningham. The reigning champions found themselves one step closer to the trophy 13 minutes in.

Malky Thomson’s side pushed for an equaliser but eager to hold on to their much-needed lead, City denied them every opportunity at getting close to goal. Frustrations started to show in the Rangers camp, with Chelsea Cornet being shown a yellow for a late challenge on Chinchilla.

20 minutes after the first, Glasgow City doubled their lead. Adding an assist to her goal, Lauder’s free-kick was met by Niamh Farrelly. The number 17 got above the Rangers defence and headed it in to put the home side 2-0 up in the final game of the season.

Despite plenty of efforts, the second half was a goalless one. Hoping to make it three, Lauder came close to getting a second goal but her attempt was well saved by Cunningham.

Two minutes from time, Emma Brownlie’s effort from far out looked to be going in but it clipped the crossbar and out for a goal kick.

As the final whistle blew in Cumbernauld, the sold-out stands of Broadwood erupted in cheer – Glasgow City were champions again. In an unpredictable and difficult year, Scott Booth led his squad to another league title and in doing so, shaped more history within women’s football.

Glasgow City: Alexander, Wyne, Lauder, Van Wyk, Love, Fulutudilu, Clark, Davidson, Farrelly, Molin, Chinchilla; Clachers, Fulton, Crichton, Wojick, Colvill, Foley, Robertson.

Rangers: M Cunningham, Docherty, Hay, Reilly, Ness, McLauchlan, Girasoli, Arnot, Cornet, Kerr, Westrup; Fife, Bourma, Brownlie, O’Neill, Gemmell, H Cunningham, Swaby.

More News